I <3 Budapest

Standard

Budapest, Hungary was by far my favorite stop along my trip with my brother!  I am so excited to be going back to visit in October!  My absolute favorite part was the architecture throughout the city!

 

The Opera House

One of the first things my brother wanted to do was to go to the memento park, where there are 42 statues and sculptures on display from the communist era (between 1945-1989).  It was really awesome to see all of them!  I found this when looking at the park’s website and I just loved it:

“This Park is about dictatorship. And at the same time, because it can be talked about, described and built up, this Park is about democracy. After all, only democracy can provide an opportunity to think freely about dictatorship. Or about democracy, come to that! Or about anything!”-The words of the conceptual designer of the park, Ákos Eleőd.

Jason’s favorite part were the boots at the entrance, which is a replica of “Stalin’s Grandstand.”  In 1956 a crowd that was revolting against the communist oppression sawed off the statue at it’s knees and pulled it down, leaving Stalin’s boots on the pedestal, as a sarcastic reminder of the dictator.

Stalin's boots

Liberatin Monument

Me & a Liberation Monument

Jason & a liberation monument...I made him hold his hand 🙂

Bela Kun memorial

The Heroes of People's Powers Memorial

The Buda Volunteers Regiment Memorial

I made him do this...

...and I made him take several pictures of me doing it.

At the park.

Heroe's Square

At Heroe's Square...guarding of the tomb of the unknown soldier.

The parliment building.

Overlooking Budapest.

Nighttime view.

We were there for St. Stephen's day...there was an AMAZING fireworks show over the river.

About Aimee

I am currently serving in the U.S. Peace Corps in Gjirokaster, Albania, where I am a health education volunteer. I am doing the Peace Corps as part of my Masters in Public Health degree at Tulane University.

Leave a comment